Monday, April 6, 2009

Rainy Monday!

Where to start? We took Liam back Sat. morning to our pediatrician who informed us that the rash was not caused from the stomach flu. He told us that a rash from the flu or bug will only present in one form and will be there for 2-3 days. Liam had 3 different rashes all at once and most of it was cleared up by Friday night. He is pretty sure that Liam had an allergic reaction to something. He does have the bug but that is not what caused the rash! Other then still having diarriah he is feeling better!


Maddie went back to the Dr. this morning for a recheck on her pneumonia. She is doing much better as well. Her lungs sound much more clear. She has color back and is acting like herself again. She still won't eat anything or even drink a whole lot, but enough to at least keep her hydrated.


Jarryd is home from school today. He woke me up at 4am to tell me he didn't feel well. I put him back to bed only to have him come back in a few minutes later to tell me he puked. So I had him brush his teeth, wash his face have a little drink of water and tucked back into be. 20 minutes later it was a total dejavu! He is feeling fine, playing and enjoying a day off! He has only eaten a popsicle though all day. So I hope his illness is not going to turn into what Liam has.


On a good note, we leave for Florida 2 weeks from tomorrow! I can't wait to see my Dad and step mom and enjoy some nice warm air! We are just about ready. I have made my check list and just need to pack. I am really hoping that the kids are all better and back to themselves before we leave. I want to be able to enjoy ourselves and not have any illness' during our stay!

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Seriously???

So just as Maddie seems to be doing better Liam gets sick. He woke up yesterday morning with diarriah and vomiting. It was awful. We just figured it was the stomach bug. Well then early afternoon he started with a rash on his stomach. I had Jarryds Great Grandmother who lives next door and is a retired nurse take a look at it. She thought it might be an allergic reaction to something, and told me to keep a close eye on it. Well with in an hour it got worse and there were new spots that looked totally different. So I walked Liam next door to ask her if I should be worried. She told me yes and that I should call our pediatrician. So I did but of course they were already closed and told me we needed to take him to the er.

So we did just that. We spent 4.5 hours there for them to tell us it was the flu causing this rash. And sent us home and told us we need to have our pediatrician check him today. So I am going to call as soon as they are open. He is still sleeping so I am not sure how it looks this morning. I just know that if my kids don't get healthy soon I am going to loose my mind! Will update when and if we find anything else out!

Have a great weekend!

Friday, April 3, 2009

Maddie is Sick...I Have Had Enough!

So one of these days I will be able to post something other then my kids not so wonderful health. This week it is Madalynn.

It all started over 2 weeks ago when she spiked a fever out of the blue. Well the fever never completely went away. Some days it was down but other days it spiked. Well on Tuesday night it spiked to 104. We gave her some Motrin and that brought it down. We put her in bed with us so we could keep a close eye on her. By morning it was maintaining right around 102.5. After talking to my mom I decided it was best to get her to the Dr.

When we got there everything looked fine, ears, throat, belly etc. Then he noticed that her glands were extremely enlarged, signaling an infection. From there he sent us across the parking lot to the family health center where they took blood work. That was horrible, I think she handled it better then me! We also had to collect urine to rule out a UTi, since she has a long history of them. So by evening time we were all done and she was acting OK.

Well by yesterday morning she was acting and looking VERY sick. Her fever wouldn't come below 102 with Motrin and Tylenol. She wouldn't get up from the couch. Refused to eat anything. I was able to get a little juice in her but that was about it. So I called the Dr.s to see if they had any results. They did not yet have results but wanted to see her because of her doing worse.

When we got there her fever was up to 103. Then when the pediatrician was listening to her lungs she heard some crackling. She suspected it was pneumonia but sent us back to the Family Health Center for a Chest XRay. Yea that was definitely not fun with a very sick little girl who wanted nothing to do with anything!!! Well they got the XRay and sent it with us back to the Pediatricians. Our Dr. looked at it and found there were white patches on both her lungs confirming the pneumonia. So she put her antibiotics and we have to go back Monday Morning. In the mean time we have to make sure her fever does not go above 103.5 and stay there for more then 2 hours. We also have to keep an eye on her breathing. Which so far has not been a problem.

We are just hoping to get this all cleared up at home and not have to be hospitalized for it. That is the next step if this doesn't work. So keep your fingers crossed. I will re post after Monday's appointment to update everyone.